So.

I bought tofu for the first time last week.

And I  was excited about it too.

Having only recently gotten over my tofu prejudice since coming to Taiwan, I was excited to try this magical food out in my own kitchen.  As excited as cooking can make anyone. That’s how excited I was.

I never knew this about myself until the last couple of years when I started cooking, but, apparently, I’m a big closet grocery shopper and spender. I can spend two hours in the grocery store browsing different sorts of sauces and spices, beans, and noodles. And cheese. Let’s not forget cheese. It is the light of my life.

I’ve managed to buy some questionable items this  way.

Which include this one….

 

It seemed like such a good idea at the time.

I mean, it was in the weird food aisle. Well, one of the weird food aisles, anyway. It looked like food that I’ve seen in the awesome vegetarian place across the street from my work. So, really, what could go wrong?

Well….you’ll be glad to know I didn’t need hospital care. I didn’t poison myself. I didn’t even throw up a little.  But….I’m almost positive it’s not tofu. It’s solid, but a little jiggly, and it tastes like fish.

Fish!!!

I made an awesome stir fry. I couldn’t have been prouder of myself.

Doesn’t this look sweet? 

It looked succulent, healthy, full of greens and veggies. Everything  that’s green and good for a hungry, hungry girl.

Until I tasted it.

Surprise, surprise, it tasted strangely fishy. Very fishy in fact.

I went with the idea that since it was in the food aisle, it must be O.K. to eat.  So I managed to save the dish by adding a bunch of oyster sauce and totally changing the flavor, but my God. What the hell?

I asked a friend, and he claimed it was fish flavored turnip and rice cake.

I guess its possible. I did find this image on-line: 

It kinda looks like the same thing.  But then he  told me about how sweet it was…and boy, can I tell you, my weird jiggly stuff is not sweet!

So I’m leaving you with this thought…

…seriously, WTF did I just eat?

 

