After celebrating the Christmas Eve festivities with some friends, a friend and I went for a walk around my neighborhood primarily to mouw down on some food.

Along the way we stumbled upon an open air market that I hadn’t realized existed there. For all that I live in this area of Taipei, I haven’t much explored my immediate surroundings. I usually hang out in other parts of the city and when I’m home I don’t eat out much. And frankly, I’m just lazy.

It was charming to realize there were so many fresh food options that don’t involve going to a grocery store and, of course, this finally gave me a chance to take some pictures of some of the more exotic types of food that can be found everywhere in Taiwan. Before I left the States I had been looking for a market similar to this, but in comparison, the farmer’s markets I found near my old home where tiny, lacked selection, and were way over priced.

I know some of you must be wondering at this point why I talk about food so much. What can I say? I love food. Taiwanese food is pretty awesome.  And ultimately, the food here is really different from anything I’ve ever seen before. I have never seen such a collection of random different fruits, veggies, mushrooms and the like anywhere else.

I hope you enjoy looking at these pictures as much as I enjoyed taking them. My friend Zona, also known as the “Best damned local tour guide ever,” helped me put English names to the whole selection and provided the more detailed explanations that are included on some of the photos. She was also patient enough to walk with me through the market in the first place. Without her I wouldn’t have known what I’m looking at and this post would have been much, much more boring.

If you want to see larger  images you can click on a picture and go through the whole gallery from there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

