Well, this week I learned a lesson about mold I never ever wanted to learn: it can grow anywhere. Including your clothes, your shoes, paper, on earrings and necklaces, and the list just goes on and on.

I’ve been battling it for the past week and I’ve never seen anything like it.

It all started a few weeks ago when the weather finally got cold. It got cold and I shut my windows and kept them shut. Makes sense right?

What I didn’t think about is where the moisture from my shower, laundry and cooking was supposed to go. I mean…it just goes into the  air and disperses right? Nope! My steam got sucked into my closet where it sat and festered and rotted until mold began to grow. All over everything.

I didn’t even realize what was happening at first. I saw it two weeks ago and thought it was just dust all over everything. I cleaned it up but i couldn’t forget about it. It was strange. Where would dust come from in my closet? Finally, the only explanation I could come up with was maybe there was an earthquake and it shook some dust loose.

Well two weeks later, I went into my closet again looking for some clothes I don’t often wear. I suppose I should explain that my closet is basically a large box separated into two parts.  One that I use, and usually leave the door open too, and then one where I store everything I don’t use on a regular basis, and which I usually leave  closed.  The parts are connected in the back by shelving that extends into both sections along the back wall.

Anyway, so I open up the closet and this “dust” is all over the place again. I pick up my going out shoes and take a closer look. They were furry. Yellow fur, gray fur and even some green fur.  I thought I would puke. I started digging around in my closet and discovered that everything, and I mean everything, was  covered to some extent or another with mold. My laptop bag and brand new  backpack had both sprouted mold. All my summer shoes. My books, my dresses, my shirts, pants. Unbelievable.

Then I went into the other side of the closet and noticed mold was slowly creeping in there too. It was growing on my carry on luggage, belts, scarves. I dug out the books at the back of the closet. They weren’t damp, but the wood paneling behind them was dripping with condensation. And that was how I pieced everything together. Apparently it’s not an uncommon event in Taipei, or anywhere else. I’ve never seen moldy clothes personally though and I’m just disgusted.

I thought about taking pictures but just no. No. I’m not gonna do it. I’m completely disgusted and horrified. Not to mention I’ve already thrown out quite a few items that I deemed unsalvageable and I’m laundering all the rest in the desperate hopes that it will help. As I write this I’m listening to all my shoes bang around in the washer. Hopefully they’ll pull through. Some of them are pseudo leather. Don’t know if they’ll survive but its worth a shot I guess. They can’t be worn the way they are right now anyway.

I guess its time to buy that heater and dehumidifier I’ve been avoiding  buying. It sucks to have to buy something I’ll only use for another month but I suppose the cost is less than having to replace everything I own.

I mean. God. My passport is moldy. What am I supposed to do with a moldy passport?

