I don’t normally post this frequently, but this happened as I was walking home from work today and I had to get it down before I forgot it.

I was standing at the intersection, minding my own business only a few blocks from my place, listening to my iPod while I waited for the light to change. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a guy come up next to me on the right, squeezing himself between me and the tree I was standing next to. He had to stand on the roots of the tree to fit there.

He started saying something so I moved over a step assuming he was just trying to get to the curb. But no.  Of course not. He kept talking, so I (very politely) pulled out first one headphone then the other so I could hear him over the roar of traffic.

It took him a moment to scrap up his courage as he asked me first if I spoke English, then if I spoke Chinese. English I said, thinking maybe he wanted directions or something. Nope.

After one false start he explained that he wanted a friend with golden hair, like me. Since the light changed I went ahead and cut him off right there  by giving him the look and said “Yeah, I’m not interested, thanks”  before ditching him where he stood.

Why? Why does this always happen to me? I mean…what goes through people’s heads sometimes? They see a foreign woman on the street and suddenly today becomes their golden opportunity to act like a creepy freak?  Considering that  my house is basically a block away from the red light district I’m pretty sure he really was  eager to make a friend with golden hair. For the night. And even if he wasn’t…what the hell? Did he think I would jump all over this wonderful opportunity to give him my number? Should I have just up and grabbed a drink with him at the bar?

I can’t say that I haven’t had creepy encounters in the States or in Poland because I definitely have.  It just seems like it happens on a weekly basis here. I  really hate when people violate the first golden rule to leaving people alone which is having the poor sense of bothering someone with headphones on.

Ok. I’m done with my rant now and moving on. Thanks for reading.

