I’m happy to say I’m typing this from my brand spanking new laptop.

Without going into too many details, I’ll just say its an ASUS and I’m happy to be supporting the local brand.  With a 15.6 inch screen it’s considerably bigger than my last laptop and the keyboard is taking some getting used to but overall the sound and screen quality are great and that was really important to me.

And since it has Chinese characters, if I ever learn Chinese I’ll be able to type with no problems.

Cool, huh?

After tooling around on-line and doing some research I headed off to the computer mall with a co-worker. We walked around and talked to several vendors. Some of who were pushy and obnoxious and tried to sell me brands and models I wasn’t interested in; a sales attitude which I absolutely loathe. Some, whose English wasn’t good enough to communicate (in retrospect I should’ve gone with someone who spoke Mandarin. I’m sure that the haggling would have been much more effective then). Finally, we found one guy that was willing to offer both decent information and a decent price. So in the end I walked off with a laptop with more under the hood then I’ll ever actually need, but I’m happy with what I have.

The computer mall itself is like a geek’s mecca with anything and everything about computers and electronics available over seven stories. My co-worker insists that since there are no naked women walking around there, it in fact, not a geek’s mecca, but I’m gonna call it like I see it.

Outside there are numerous alleys that offer even more tech.  This is the second computer mall I’ve been to in Taipei (there are three) and its amazing to see so much technology all in one place.  Last week I went to Nova near Taipei Main but with only four measly little floors of tech it failed to impress.I won’t say its cheaper to buy electronics here than in the States, because it’s not.  So let’s put those rumors to rest once and for all.

Over all, the whole buying experience was relatively painless. I’m going to keep my fingers crossed that the laptop has no problems in the near future.

Getting it serviced might be a whole different story.

